Fields Set for the 2014 USCAA Basketball National Championships

Fields Set for the 2014 USCAA Basketball National Championships

Newport News, VA – The fields for the 2014 USCAA Men’s and Women’s Basketball National Championships have been finalized. Returning to Uniontown, Pennsylvania and hosted by Penn State Fayette for the sixth straight year, the championships will feature 34 teams playing in 39 games March 4th-8th.

The Men’s Division I field will be highlighted by defending National Champion and number two seed Rochester College and last year’s runner-up, Daemen College, the top overall seed. The third-seed goes to Victory University who will take on tournament newcomer #6 Tennessee Temple University in the first round. Washington Adventist University takes the fourth seed and will face off against #5 Robert Morris University-Springfield in the opening round. Rounding out the Men’s Division I field are #7 The Apprentice School and #8 Concordia College Alabama.

Coming off a 21-3 regular season, Iowa Wesleyan College has secured the top seed in the Women’s Division I bracket. The field consists of two recent National Champions. The 2011 National Champions and number two seed Ave Maria University return, as does #8 Concordia College Alabama, the 2012 National Champions. Concordia will draw Iowa Wesleyan in their first-round matchup and Ave Maria will meet #7 St. Joseph’s College-Brooklyn. Robert Morris University-Springfield grabs the third-seed and will face #6 University of Maine-Fort Kent in the opening round. Women’s Division I tournament mainstays #4 The Apprentice School and #5 Rochester College will matchup in the final first-round game in the Women’s Division I field.

Central Maine Community College enters as the team to beat in the Men’s Division II field, riding a perfect season in the Yankee Conference to the bracket’s top overall seed. Defending National Champion, Warren Wilson College, returns as the bracket’s fifth seed. The Owls will have a first-round matchup against #4 Penn State Mont Alto, the Penn State Athletic Conference runner-up. 2011 and 2012 National Champion #6 Andrews University returns to the tournament for a fourth consecutive year. The Cardinals will draw #3 Central Penn College in their opening game. First-round action will feature #7 Berkeley College NJ facing off against host institution Penn State Fayette, the tournament’s tenth seed. The winner of that matchup will meet Penn State Athletic Conference Champion and #2 seed Penn State York. The final opening round game will feature #8 Penn State Beaver against #9 Berkeley College NY, with the winner advancing to play Central Maine Community College. 

Like their counterparts, the Central Maine Community College women went undefeated in their conference and rolled to the #1 overall seed. However, annual tournament contender #2 University of Cincinnati-Clermont, defending champion #3 Albany College of Pharmacy, and last year’s runner-up #4 Berkeley College NY will provide stiff competition at the top of the bracket. Penn State Athletic Conference champion Penn State Beaver secures the fifth-seed in the tournament, and host institution and 2013 semi-finalist Penn State Fayette grabs the sixth seed. Rounding out the Women’s Division II bracket will be #7 University of Maine-Augusta and first-time tournament participant #8 Warren Wilson College.

The tournament kicks off with the USCAA Basketball Skills Competition at the Penn State Fayette Main Arena on March 4th at 1:30 PM, followed by the All-American Banquet that evening at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort.  Tickets for the 2014 Championships and the 2014 Banquet are available at All four divisions will begin play on March 5th with championship games being held on March 8th.

If you would like more information on USCAA basketball or the 2014 USCAA Basketball National Championships please visit the Tournament Website.


Men’s Division I Tournament Participants

#1 Daemen College

#2 Rochester College

#3 Victory University

#4 Washington Adventist University

#5 Robert Morris University-Springfield

#6 Tennessee Temple University

#7 The Apprentice School

#8 Concordia College Alabama


Link to Men’s Division I Bracket


Women’s Division I Tournament Participants

#1 Iowa Wesleyan College

#2 Ave Maria University

#3 Robert Morrs University-Springfield

#4 The Apprentice School

#5 Rochester College

#6 University of Maine-Fort Kent

#7 St. Joseph’s College-Brooklyn

#8 Concordia College Alabama


Link to Women’s Division I Bracket


Men’s Division II Tournament Participants

#1 Central Maine Community College

#2 Penn State York

#3 Central Penn College

#4 Penn State Mont Alto

#5 Warren Wilson College

#6 Andrews University

#7 Berkeley College NJ

#8 Penn State Beaver

#9 Berkeley College NY

#10 Penn State Fayette


Link to Men’s Division II Bracket


Women’s Division II Tournament Participants

#1 Central Maine Community College

#2 University of Cincinnati-Clermont

#3 Albany College of Pharmacy

#4 Berkeley College NY

#5 Penn State Beaver

#6 Penn State Fayette

#7 University of Maine Augusta

#8 Warren Wilson College


Link to Women’s Division II Bracket