Southern Virginia, SUNY ESF Both Make It Back to Back in Lake Placid

Southern Virginia, SUNY ESF Both Make It Back to Back in Lake Placid

Knights and Mighty Oaks Crowned 2012 XC National Champions


Lake Placid, NY – Paul Smith’s College concluded an outstanding stint as Cross Country host at Mount Van Hoevenberg in Lake Placid, New York, with the largest cross country event in USCAA history.  This year’s championship featured 17 men’s teams and 17 women’s teams, with over 300 participants. 

On a favorable day at the former Olympic cross country skiing site, many of 2011’s winners reigned again.  Southern Virginia’s women’s cross country program earned its second straight title, behind All-American Kera Nielson (25:15.93), who did not run for the Knights in 2011.  Additional scorers for the Knights were 2011 All-American and 2012 2nd Team All-American Victoria Faulkner (25:35.52), Leah Huber (25:42.25), Shelbi Prince (26:20.56), and Jacey Moore (26:21.09).  After edging SUNY ESF by only 18 points last season, the Knights finished ahead of the second place finishers St. Mary of the Woods by 27 points, and third place finishers SUNY ESF by 37 points.  This year’s individual champion in women’s cross country was Stephanie Runyon, with a time of 24:11.61.  After finishing second in the 2009 and 2010 Championships, Runyon capped off her collegiate career with back to back National Championship runs in Lake Placid.

Below you can find the 2012 USCAA All-Americans and links to complete individual and team results.

Women’s  1st Team All-Americans (Top 7 Finishers)

1 Stephanie Runyon        St. Mary of the Woods             24:11.61

2 Alex Leandri                 PSU Wilkes Barre                     24:32.62

3 Tatiyanah Johnson       Dine College                            24:45.99

4 Logan Fry                    St. Mary of the Woods              25:12.46

5 Kera Neilson                Southern Virginia                      25:15.93

6 Jordan Weir                 Daemen                                    25:28.50

7 Kayla Legassie            Maine Presque Isle                   25:31.85


Women’s 2nd Team All-Americans (Finishers 8-14)

8 Karen Hunsicker           Florida College                        25:33.45

9 Hayley Burnhauser       PSU Schuylkill                          25:35.03

10 Clare Myers                Dallas                                      25:37.33

11 Victoria Faulkner        Southern Virginia                     25:38.52

12 Leah Huber                Southern Virginia                     25:42.25

13 Sammie Grove           Lindenwood Belleville               25:47.61

14 Danielle Kaveney      SUNY ESF 25:48.62*

14 Kristen Campbell       SUNY ESF                                  25:49.13*

*Timing error switched finishers; corrected via video evidence


Women’s Complete Individual Results

Women’s Complete Team Results

Women's National All-Academic Team



On the men's side, the Mighty Oaks of SUNY ESF made it two for two in the USCAA National Championships, posting an overall team score of only 38, and having no scorer post a time over the 29 minute mark.  Leading SUNY ESF to their second title was Timmy Callahan (27:45.11) who shaved almost 49 seconds off of his 2011 time where he finished fourth place finish with 1st Team All-American honors.  Callahan finished second this year, just under ten seconds behind this year’s individual champion, Dustin Abeita, a freshman from Dine College who posted an impressive 27:36.61.  Abeita marks the second straight runner to edge a SUNY ESF runner from first place. 

Rounding out the scorers for SUNY ESF were 2012 1st Team All-Americans Taylor Yerrick (28:21.23) and Stephen Slonosky (28:27.59), and 2nd Team All-Americans Brian Busby (28:37.60) and Jon Cleveland (28:53.97).  In team results, Dine College gained their second straight runner up trophy with 61 points, followed by 2012 USCAA Director’s Cup Champions Lindenwood University Belleville, who posted 152 points.  The champions, SUNY ESF, will now prepare to host the USCAA Cross Country Championships in Syracuse, New York in 2013 and 2014.

Below you can find the 2012 USCAA All-Americans and links to complete individual and team results.

Men’s  1st Team All-Americans (Top 7 Finishers)

1 Dustin Abeita               Dine College                 27:36.61

2 Timmy Callahan           SUNY-ESF                      27:45.11

3 Patrick Gonzalez         Southern Virginia           28:09.89

4 Ronald Hicks                Dine College                 28:15.83

5 Justin Richardson        SUNY Canton                28:16.50

6 Taylor Yerrick              SUNY-ESF                      28:21.23

7 Stephen Slonosky      SUNY-ESF                       28:27.59


Men’s 2nd Team All-Americans (Finishers 8-14)

8 Ryan McAnany             Dallas                      28:28.01

9 Herbert Beyale, III      Dine College            28:28.69

10 Corey Roth                Paul Smith's            28:30.63

11 Brian Busby               SUNY-ESF                28:37.60

12 Jon Cleveland            SUNY-ESF                28:53.97

13 Javier Secaira            Dallas                      28:57.05

14 Jeremy Driscoll          SUNY-ESF                 29:01.24


Men’s Complete Individual Results

Men’s Complete Team Results

Men's National All-Academic Team