Oakwood wins USCAA Men's Division I National Championship!

Oakwood wins USCAA Men's Division I National Championship!

UNIONTOWN, PA- The seventh-seeded Oakwood Ambassadors have clinched their second USCAA Men’s Division I National Championship, defeating the first-seeded Rochester College Warriors 54-51. The Ambassadors were led by All-American and Tournament MVP Austin Doggette whose three-pointer with 53 seconds remaining broke a 49-49 tie and put Oakwood up for good. Doggette scored 21 points (6-11 from three). Wilbur Ampey added 15 points and Ronnie Clark tallied 10 assists for the Ambassadors, winners of the 2008 USCAA Men’s Division I National Championship.

On the strength of Doggette’s six three point field goals, Oakwood shot 47 percent from three and 41 percent overall for the game. The Warriors shot only 33 percent from the floor and struggled from the three-point line, shooting only 29 percent (6-21). Rochester was led by Dramel Hogan with 19 points (7-15 from the floor) and 16 rebounds. Stephan Henning added 16 point and 8 assists, and Rick Doran grabbed 10 rebounds for the Warriors, winners of four previous USCAA Men’s Basketball National Championships.

The Warriors had a chance to tie the game after Lenard Bryant missed two free throws with 20 seconds remaining, but on the ensuing Rochester possession Bryant stole the ball from Henning to seal the victory. Congratulations to the Oakwood Ambassadors!


All-Tournament Team

Dramel Hogan            Rochester College

Rick Doran                 Rochester College

Wilbur Ampey            Oakwood University

Isiah Harrison            Apprentice School

Kiel Lewis                  Ave Maria University

Tournament MVP

Austin Doggette        Oakwood University