2017 USCAA Softball National Championship to Begin on Monday, May 15th

2017 USCAA Softball National Championship to Begin on Monday, May 15th

NORFOLK, VA – The 2017 USCAA Softball National Championship field was revealed earlier this week. As teams make their final preparations for their trip to Akron, Ohio, this weekend, you can see a full list of participants below and information on how to follow the tournament.

The National Championship will return to Firestone Stadium for a ninth consecutive year, hosted by Penn State Beaver and the Akron Racers. Play begins on Monday, May 15th with the National Champion scheduled to be crowned on Thursday, May 18th. There tournament will feature at least 19 total games played.

The field is highlighted by two-time defending National Champion, St. Mary of the Woods College. The Pomeroys return after another strong season in which they finished 25-6, including a perfect 14-0 against USCAA opponents. In its history, St. Mary of the Woods has won 10 USCAA Softball National Championships. They’ll be led in the tournament by Emma Riffe (.522/.585/.700), Hollie Jones (.420/.487/.540 and 29 stolen bases), Christian Chambers (72.1 innings, 2.03 ERA) and Taylor Andrew (70.1 innings, 2.09 ERA, .488 BA).

Cleary University secured their second straight trip to Akron after a program-best 28-15 season. The Cougars from Howell, Michigan seem the likeliest opponent to unseat the Pomeroys after the teams played two close games earlier in the spring. In the same boat is #3 seed, Carlow University. The perennial power has finished as the runner-up in the last two USCAA Softball National Championships. Their rivalry with St. Mary of the Woods goes back even further, and the Celtics will look to turn the tide this time around. New to the field this year is fourth seeded SUNY Canton. The Roos secured a top spot in the field after a 22-15 record. Those 22 wins marked a school record.

In the first round, SUNY Canton will face off against Penn State University Athletic Conference Champion (PSUAC) Penn State Brandywine. The Lions from Brandywine will make their third straight trip to Akron, and will look to improve upon their 4th place finish from 2016. University of Maine-Presque Isle secured another trip to Akron on the strength of a 22-13 regular season, including a four-game split against SUNY Canton. The #7 spot in the tournament belongs to the Judson College Eagles. The Eagles return to Akron for the first time since 2011, and based on opponents’ batting average against, will field the top pitching staff in the championship.

Tournament host Penn State Beaver secures the eighth spot in the field for a second consecutive year. The Lions enter play with an 18-16 record on the season. Facing against Beaver in the tournament’s first round will be another newcomer to the field, University of Cincinnati-Clermont. The Cougars ranked among the best teams in the USCAA in batting average, on-base percentage, and earned run average during the regular season. Pitcher Madison Taber has recorded a 53:1 strikeout to walk ratio on the year. The final seed in the field belongs to Penn State Fayette. The Roaring Lions will make their trip to the tournament after finishing second in the PSUAC. 

You can follow all the action from the 2017 USCAA Softball National Championships from the softball championship website. You can watch games live using the ‘Watch Live’ link or follow live scores and stories on the scoreboard application. For note, games on the Pony Field will not be streamed. The semifinal and finals of the tournament will feature broadcasters.

Softball Tournament Participants

#1 St. Mary of the Woods College

#2 Cleary University

#3 Carlow University

#4 SUNY-Canton

#5 Penn State Brandywine

#6 University of Maine-Presque Isle

#7 Judson College

#8 Penn State Beaver

#9 University of Cincinnati-Clermont

#10 Penn State Fayette

Link to Softball Bracket