Dayton of RMU Springfield Wins 2011 Small College World Series HR Derby

OLD ORCHARD BEACH, ME – The United States Collegiate Athletic Association Baseball National Championships (Small College World Series) is officially underway.  Following Friday’s festivities which included the Championship banquet and parade of teams, the 2011 Home Run Derby took place at “The Ballpark” on Friday evening.

Pete Dayton is this year’s 2011 USCAA Small College World Series Home Run Derby Champion.  Following the first round of 10, featuring one power slugger from each team in the tournament, the field was narrowed.  Advancing to the final three was Pete Dayton of Robert Morris Springfield, Andrew Snider of Southern Virginia University, and Tashland Robinson of Selma University.  The BBCOR bats and depth of The Ballpark proved tough for competitors.  Leading off in the finals, Dayton blasted two shots which went unmatched by the other competitors, leading to the Derby Championship.

Play now opens at 8:30am on Saturday morning, due to impending weather in the forecast.  The schedule for Saturday is listed below.  For up to date scores and results, visit the Small College World Series tournament page:  






GM 2 - 8:30 AM - Robert Morris Springfield vs. Central Maine CC

GM 1 - 11 AM - Rochester vs. Southern Maine CC

GM 6 - 1:30 PM - Game 2 winner vs. Briarcliffe

GM 4 - 4 PM - Apprentice vs. Selma

GM 3 - 6:30 PM - Spalding vs. Penn State Greater Allegheny

GM 5 - 9 PM -Game 1 winner vs. Southern Virginia




Game times TBA due to weather

GM 7 - Loser G1 vs. Loser G3

GM 8 - Loser G2 vs. Loser G4

GM 10 - Winner G4 vs. Winner G6