Dayton of RMU Springfield Wins Second Consecutive HR Derby Title

Dayton of RMU Springfield Wins Second Consecutive HR Derby Title

SPRINGFIELD,IL – The United States Collegiate Athletic Association Baseball National Championships (Small College World Series) is officially underway. Sunday's festivities included the Championship Banquet as well as the 2012 Home Run Derby which took place at Robin Roberts Stadium.

Pete Dayton represented the host institution, Robert Morris University-Springfield well for the second straight year.  Following the first round of 10, featuring one power slugger from each team in the tournament, the field was narrowed to just five. In the final round of the competition Dayton was able to crush six homeruns, dominating his competition with a four homerun margin of victory to bring the trophy home to the Eagles.

The first round of the championship begins at 8:30am on Monday morning.  The schedule is available below as well as on our championship website. Follow all the action via LiveStats on the USCAA website and by following the USCAA on Twitter (@USCAA). 

Monday, May 7     *Schedule may change due to weather conditions

8:30 AM Game 1

11:00 AM Game 2

1:30 PM Game 3

4:00 PM Game 4

6:30 PM Game 5

9:00 PM Game 6


Tuesday, May 8

8:30 AM Game 7

11:00 AM Game 8

1:30 PM Game 9

4:00 PM Game 10

6:30 PM Game 11

9:00 PM Game 12


Wednesday, May 9

9:00 AM Game 13

11:30 AM Game 14

2:00 PM Game 15

4:30 PM Game 16


Thursday, May 10

11:00 AM Game 17-3rd place game

2:30 PM Game 18 - Championship Game